Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Hardware > Hardware

Notices

Hardware Use this board for problem solving and the discussion of Computer Hardware issues

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old January 7th, 2006, 09:52 PM
RcaMumba's Avatar
RcaMumba RcaMumba is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Age: 37
Posts: 27
Do I Need To Upgrade My Power Supply?

My computer only came with a 250w power supply. Since I have gotten it I have added a CD-ROM, Wireless Networking Card, New Graphics Card, and more RAM. Should I upgrade? I would like to also add another harddrive sometime...which I'm sure will require more power. Also can I have too much power...or how do I know how much is needed? Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old January 7th, 2006, 09:58 PM
Gav021288 Gav021288 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: Newcastle, UK
Posts: 194
I dont know much about power suplys but I dont think you can have too much power
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old January 7th, 2006, 10:45 PM
photolady photolady is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 10,927
250w is low. In today's standard computers, those that we build or upgrade ourselves, at least 450w isn't too much. What graphics card did you get? Most of the newer ones will tell you to have at least a 350w just for the card. Add fans, harddrives, optical drives, ram and lights, then you need what I said above.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old January 8th, 2006, 06:54 AM
hypothermia's Avatar
hypothermia hypothermia is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: Melbourne
Age: 34
Posts: 84
I'd go to 500W reguardless. Unless this machine is prehistoric, I don't see why upgrading to double the power would hurt. Then again I run my everyday rig on a 400W psu.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old January 8th, 2006, 11:49 AM
Evoker Evoker is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1
this might help
http://www.jscustompcs.com/power_supply/
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old January 8th, 2006, 08:59 PM
RcaMumba's Avatar
RcaMumba RcaMumba is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Age: 37
Posts: 27
Okay thanks everyone for your help. I will be upgrading soon then! Yeah, I thought 250 was pretty low myself...the weird thing is this is a fairly new computer. 2.8Ghz, 512mb DDR RAM, 256MB Video Card...
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old January 8th, 2006, 09:41 PM
Rich M's Avatar
Rich M Rich M is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Eastern, Pa
Posts: 6,685
Yikes that is way underpowered...I would do it sooner.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old January 9th, 2006, 01:31 AM
hypothermia's Avatar
hypothermia hypothermia is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: Melbourne
Age: 34
Posts: 84
Woah! That's a pretty new computer to only come with a 250W PSU :/
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old January 9th, 2006, 01:36 AM
sho-dan's Avatar
sho-dan sho-dan is offline
Senior T-Dog
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: Island of Misfit Toys
Age: 73
Posts: 4,620
if its a low end brand name computer,ie dell,hp gateway,thats what they usually come with 250w psu/high end maybe 350w
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old January 13th, 2006, 11:12 PM
RcaMumba's Avatar
RcaMumba RcaMumba is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Age: 37
Posts: 27
Its a compaq...that explains it..lol Its a pretty good computer now with the upgrades.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old January 13th, 2006, 11:35 PM
Nick Grana's Avatar
Nick Grana Nick Grana is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
O/S: Windows 98 SE
Location: Pensacola, Florida
Posts: 3,973
Why don't people heed all the warnings of buying certain things like Comtrash/HP, Emachines, and the likes. You have a 250 PSU because more money is made selling you inferior parts. Packard H-E-L-L was the absolute worst. IBM made a good machine but don't expect anything lower that 10 times the price replacement parts compared to other systems.
Sorry. I'm sure your new machine will be just fine. I was on the fixing side so I saw many more products than most cusomers did.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Topic Topic Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PC Power Supply and Memory Upgrade Questions crashnet Hardware 9 April 2nd, 2007 09:15 PM
Sony Vaio Power Supply Upgrade: Possible? Des12 Hardware 5 November 29th, 2006 11:32 PM
video card upgrade without power supply upgrade??? pbaiocco Hardware 13 September 4th, 2006 07:39 PM
excessive fan noise after power supply upgrade Kerry Lange Hardware 7 May 15th, 2006 09:53 PM
Power Supply Upgrade boosted-lt1 Hardware 4 December 5th, 2005 01:09 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:04 AM.