Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Operating Systems > Linux

Notices

Linux Problem solving for all open source distributions of Linux, such as Debian/Ubuntu, Fedora, RedHat, Suse, Mandriva and other proprietary unixes such as Solaris, SGI Irix. Newbie friendly too!

Topic Tools
Old July 8th, 2003, 10:33 PM
CTH Subscriber

O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Tips and tricks.

How about posting your tips and tricks for everyone. As I am new to linux, I'd like to see what you all have found to help speed up linux.

Since I'm new I dont have tips or tricks yet. Haven't really had time to dive into Mandrake really good yet.
Old July 8th, 2003, 11:57 PM

Remember this:

"The command line is my friend."

-TwistedCranium
Old July 9th, 2003, 02:26 AM
CTH Subscriber

add aliases to your bash rc to automate commands

One of the first thing that I do when I get an account on a unix/linux machine at work or setup a linux install at home is to modify my bash shell profile to preset aliases for me.

Firstly, I should mention that the 'bash' shell is the default shell loaded with the recent RedHat versions and is likely the most commonly used shell in the linux/unix world. When you fire up a terminal window, that command line is your shell. To determine what shell you're currently using type 'echo $SHELL' at the prompt. Pick your shell from the following

ECHO RESULTS
/bin/bash.............bash shell (bourne again shell)
/bin/sh...............bourne shell (predecessor to the bash shell)
/bin/csh..............C shell
/bin/tcsh.............enhanced version of C shell