Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Software > Malware Removal

Notices

Malware Removal Discussion about Trojans, viruses, hoaxes, firewalls, spyware, and general Security issues. If you suspect your PC is infected with a virus, trojan or spyware app please include any supporting documentation or logs

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #61  
Old May 20th, 2009, 02:47 AM
Jintan's Avatar
Jintan Jintan is offline
Cyber Tech Help Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 52,284
No, I think you got it. Very good work. I do not know what had made the changes that you have now corrected, but of course keep a watch for issues that might come up, and if so post back here and we'll review them. At least in the next few days - doesn't help over long time periods to stay with a thread when too many issues and things may have changed. Any more problems we need to address before we just finish with a cleanup here?
Reply With Quote
  #62  
Old May 20th, 2009, 06:25 PM
Bonksie's Avatar
Bonksie Bonksie is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
O/S: Windows XP Home
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 100
Everything's fine over here. I now do have the "new PC feeling again", thanks to your tireless efforts!

I assume that after the final cleanup it will be OK to reinstall McAfee.
Reply With Quote
  #63  
Old May 20th, 2009, 11:42 PM
Jintan's Avatar
Jintan Jintan is offline
Cyber Tech Help Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 52,284
Yes, let's do the cleanup, then you reinstall McAfee and post back to verify everything is okay there now. Understand that McAfee, just by the nature of how it operates, will again add some system slowness.


Go to Start Settings Control Panel. Click on Add/Remove Programs. If any of the following programs are listed there, click on the program to highlight it, and click on Remove. Then close the Control Panel. These are older and more vulnerable Java versions, though be sure to leave the latest, Java(TM) 6 Update 13

J2SE Runtime Environment 5.0 Update 10
J2SE Runtime Environment 5.0 Update 8
J2SE Runtime Environment 5.0 Update 9
Java(TM) 6 Update 2
Java(TM) 6 Update 3
Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment 6 Update 1


---------------

You can also at this time delete the files/folders of the tools we used. To assist with some of that download OTMoveIt3 and save the file to your desktop. This will help by automatically removing some of the tools we used.

Click OTMoveIt3.exe to run it and click on Cleanup. You'll be asked if you want to begin cleanup process? Select Yes.

OTMoveIt will search for and delete/uninstall many of the tools that we have used to fix your problems and all their backup folders and then delete itself when you next reboot. At the end of the run you will receive a prompt to reboot, so go ahead and allow that.

Then do the McAfee reinstall, reboot, check things and post back an update please.
Reply With Quote
  #64  
Old May 21st, 2009, 11:00 AM
Bonksie's Avatar
Bonksie Bonksie is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
O/S: Windows XP Home
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 100
OK, all done. I manually deleted all the files and folders left after running OTMoveIt3. I also removed Malwarebytes which I had installed earlier.

Now, when rebooting, I get the black screen giving the option of selecting Windows XP Home operating system or the MS Recovery Console. It stays up for a few seconds, then defaults to XP Home and boots successfully. This has never happened before. Have I inadvertently done something wrong?
Reply With Quote
  #65  
Old May 22nd, 2009, 01:52 AM
Jintan's Avatar
Jintan Jintan is offline
Cyber Tech Help Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 52,284
When you ran ComboFix you did the install of the Recovery Console, which is what this new other option is. It is a good idea to have installed, as a relatively instant means of accessing things if needed.
Reply With Quote
  #66  
Old May 23rd, 2009, 10:02 AM
Bonksie's Avatar
Bonksie Bonksie is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
O/S: Windows XP Home
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 100
Have not been able to reinstall McAfee yet as the download page is reported as being temporarily unavailable or deleted. Will keep trying . . .


OK, McAfee now re-installed and everything running well. Should I also at this time uncheck those startups in msconfig?

Last edited by Bonksie; May 23rd, 2009 at 11:15 AM. Reason: Update
Reply With Quote
  #67  
Old May 24th, 2009, 01:51 AM
Jintan's Avatar
Jintan Jintan is offline
Cyber Tech Help Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 52,284
I more often suggest folks try to disable startups from within the software itself - many of them have the means in their options/preferences. Not all, but most. Assuming softwares are coded to run in ways that they are intended to run, not using the software's own mechanics to disable the startups may/may not effect the software or whatever it calls upon when used.
Reply With Quote
  #68  
Old May 24th, 2009, 02:03 PM
Bonksie's Avatar
Bonksie Bonksie is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
O/S: Windows XP Home
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 100
I've unchecked all startups in msconfig and have started working on establishing what needs to be loaded at startup and what doesn't. So far everything is running very well.

Do I need to flush all previous restore points?
Reply With Quote
  #69  
Old May 25th, 2009, 02:35 AM
Jintan's Avatar
Jintan Jintan is offline
Cyber Tech Help Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 52,284
Malware creates it's own Restore points, so the way to remove those is to reset System Restore and start afresh.
Reply With Quote
  #70  
Old May 26th, 2009, 07:34 PM
Bonksie's Avatar
Bonksie Bonksie is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
O/S: Windows XP Home
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 100
I've gone ahead and removed all previous Restore points and created a new one.

So far everything is OK, running smoothly and responding quickly.

Thank you very much for all the patient help. I've taken out a 3 year subscription, not only to support CTH, but also to make sure I don't forget to come back now and again.

Is there anything else I need to do?
Reply With Quote
  #71  
Old May 27th, 2009, 02:54 AM
Jintan's Avatar
Jintan Jintan is offline
Cyber Tech Help Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 52,284
Very good subscribing - it offsets the expenses operating this website and software. As for our work - All done now.
Reply With Quote
  #72  
Old May 27th, 2009, 06:54 PM
Bonksie's Avatar
Bonksie Bonksie is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
O/S: Windows XP Home
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 100
Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #73  
Old May 28th, 2009, 02:01 AM
Jintan's Avatar
Jintan Jintan is offline
Cyber Tech Help Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 52,284
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Topic Topic Starter Forum Replies Last Post
computer runs slow dnfrei Malware Removal 68 September 26th, 2007 04:13 AM
I need help my computer runs so slow alice42c Malware Removal 4 October 22nd, 2005 06:07 PM
HJT log Computer runs really slow.. Albo Malware Removal 1 September 22nd, 2005 03:31 AM
Computer is slow to start up and runs slow too mlpjd Windows XP 6 October 8th, 2004 08:09 PM
Computer runs slow DW22 Windows XP 7 December 15th, 2002 03:07 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:39 PM.