Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Operating Systems > Older Windows Versions > Windows ME

Notices

Windows ME Problem solving for the Windows ME Operating System

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old June 24th, 2003, 06:34 PM
Jim Smith Jim Smith is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
O/S: Windows 10 Home
Location: Durham NC USA
Age: 91
Posts: 347
Booting Into Window ME After Booting With Startup Disc

As I recall, in Windows 95 you could boot to the floppy (a:\) using a boot disc, change the directory to c:\ and to Windows, and then enter Windows 95 by using the command WIN. Can this be done in Windows ME. If so, exactly how. If not, why not?

Same questions about Windows 98.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old June 24th, 2003, 07:08 PM
Baser-X's Avatar
Baser-X Baser-X is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
O/S: MacOS
Location: U.S.
Age: 49
Posts: 1,554
You can boot to Windows 98 from DOS by simply typing "exit" at the prompt. I've never used ME extensively b/c it is the worst OS ever produced, but I suppose in theory, it should be the same deal for ME as 98. Give it a go and let us know
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old June 24th, 2003, 08:35 PM
Jim Smith Jim Smith is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
O/S: Windows 10 Home
Location: Durham NC USA
Age: 91
Posts: 347
Thanks. Don't have a Windows ME machine handy but under Windows 98 and under my scenario, when a:\>exit is entered the only result is the reappearance of the command line prompt, a:\>
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old June 24th, 2003, 08:47 PM
GretaP's Avatar
GretaP GretaP is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: Ontario, Canada
Age: 63
Posts: 5,009
Hi Jim,
I don't recall if, in WIN95, you could enter WIN95 in the manner that you described.......in fact, I don't think I ever tried it, and I don't currently have that operating system installed.

Not certain about ME (I'll check that out in a bit, as you've got my curiosity going about this), but in WIN98 it is possible to get to the Desktop in the manner that you described....with limitations. First, you'd have to add the ifshlp.sys file to the startup floppy disk (this file can be found in the C:\Windows folder) and then reference it in the [COMMON] section of the config.sys file on the startup floppy disk, by adding this entry:
devicehigh=ifshlp.sys
Save the changes and exit the config.sys file.

The limitations are that you will not be able to load the virtual device drivers that Windows so greatly depends upon. If you booted from the edited startup floppy disk, it would load the Standard VGA drivers for your display (after detecting new hardware and probably giving an error about the display adapter being unsupported). Other hardware that depends on virtual device drivers would also be inoperable (except for the CDROM if you chose to start WITH CDROM SUPPORT).
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old June 24th, 2003, 10:21 PM
Jim Smith Jim Smith is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
O/S: Windows 10 Home
Location: Durham NC USA
Age: 91
Posts: 347
Smile

Hi GretaP,

Your scheme worked, I did eventually get to the Desktop after changing the directory to c:\ and then entering windows\win

It went as you predicted.

I'll try ME on Thursday and hope to resetup my 486 with w/95 and see what happens with windows\win but I first must come up with boot disc that includes a hard drive overlay program and whatever.

Jim
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old June 24th, 2003, 10:40 PM
GretaP's Avatar
GretaP GretaP is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: Ontario, Canada
Age: 63
Posts: 5,009
I just tried it with WINME (using WINME startup disk and the ifshlp.sys file that was in WINME), and after it went thru its detecting/installing new hardware thingie, it forced a restart, so I never was able to reach the Desktop.

Let me know your results with WIN95. If you know the manufacturer of the hard disk in that rig, see if their drive setup software (should be available for d/load from their website) includes a drive overlay program.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old June 25th, 2003, 07:15 PM
Jim Smith Jim Smith is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
O/S: Windows 10 Home
Location: Durham NC USA
Age: 91
Posts: 347
Got a similar result with Windows 95 as I had had with Windows 98. Had to include both DEVICEHIGH=IFSHLP.SYS and DEVICEHIGH=HIMEM.SYS in CONFIG.SYS

I am puzzled as to why my memory is so bad on this topic.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old June 25th, 2003, 08:06 PM
Chanter Chanter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 87
You can boot into windows from clean DOS 8 in Win ME only if ISHELP is on the Windows ME Startup boot floppy disc. Type win at the prompt and it'll work. But since Win ME does not parse the config.sys file, all parameters are in the system registry, and some attempts at booting into windows from clean DOS show mixed results. The BEST way is to do a ctrl + alt + del, remove the floppy, and boot normally.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old June 26th, 2003, 10:43 AM
AnnMarie's Avatar
AnnMarie AnnMarie is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 59,810
Hi Chanter - nice to see you here. Welcome to CTH
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old June 26th, 2003, 07:52 PM
Jim Smith Jim Smith is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
O/S: Windows 10 Home
Location: Durham NC USA
Age: 91
Posts: 347
Greta, Tried ME and got the same result as you did. I couldn't avoid a restart. I included IFSHLP.sys on the boot disc and in config.sys
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old June 27th, 2003, 05:29 AM
GretaP's Avatar
GretaP GretaP is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: Ontario, Canada
Age: 63
Posts: 5,009
It was definitely an interesting experiment, Jim
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Topic Topic Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Window 10 booting up slow Carol3 Windows 10 5 September 8th, 2018 03:29 AM
Problem Booting From Disc :( Hexzar Windows XP 4 February 26th, 2007 12:10 AM
huge problem with booting Window XP shoanang Windows XP 0 November 8th, 2004 10:20 AM
Hijack log posted re: booting and booting and booting some more stevolives Malware Removal 4 August 4th, 2004 01:44 AM
annoying window on booting reman41 Windows XP 3 February 16th, 2003 12:25 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:00 PM.