Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Hardware > Hardware

Notices

Hardware Use this board for problem solving and the discussion of Computer Hardware issues

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old June 30th, 2006, 01:05 PM
karthik316_1999 karthik316_1999 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Posts: 329
AMD system upgrade..err??no u all bored of upgrade forums but pls do help me...!!

k guys...here a jist of my pc config..
ATHLON XP 2400+
ASUS A7N266 VM/SE
256 DDR
40 GB HDD
300W power supply

i had upgraded my pc 2 yrs back but made a gr8 mistake by choosing this mobo with just an AGP4x slot..

now i got myself into big trouble not able to play san andreas,half life2,doom3,driver etc etc...so pls help me out...my idea

is as follows..pls give corresponding products with rates,buy back rate for my old mobo,HDD&RAM...and also any modifications

as such whereever u feel like...budjet 25k

1.my vendor said mobo's with agp8x slot such as the ASUS A8N etc etc require a display card compulsarily to show the

display..?????-is it true....or is my vendor an ignorant geek!!??

2.I need an ASUS or MSI mobo with pci express slot...pls suggest one..with 533 MHz bus

3.about 1GB 533Mhz RAM.is it really worth going in for DDR2(r they into the market??) or can i settle down with just

DDR....guess i will have to go for higher mobos if i need DDR2???

4.a seagate 80GB or 160GB HDD....7200rpm preferably

5.here comes the gr8 trouble..pls keep the games i said in mind and i want to be able to play all games that will be released

for another 2-2.5 yrs atleast....what i have in mind is the common gforce fx 5600...or anythin better(budjet-9k)

6.pls suggest suitable mainboards in both ASUS and MSI for the gforce fx 5600 and ati radeon.....(within 9k)

7.is my power supply enough...i got a dvd writer,combo drive,cd-drive,Network Interface Card,TV tuner card and of course the

yet to be installed graphics card.....

thanks...!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old June 30th, 2006, 01:54 PM
photolady photolady is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 10,927
For one thing a FX5600 won't play those games and those cards don't come in a PCI express version. I have no idea what your vendor was talking about, never heard that one before. And your budget is what? $2500 or $250? If the first one, then you could build a really awesome computer to last you a few years, if only $250, a video card could cost you that much.

If you buy a newer motherboard, you'll have to buy a new processor, new ram, and a better power supply.

You do not have to get a board with DDR2, as DDR1 isn't on the way out, yet. Also, many gamers still use motherboards that support an AGP slot, with a decent AGP video card.

Tell me the correct budget and we'll go from there.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old June 30th, 2006, 02:19 PM
karthik316_1999 karthik316_1999 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Posts: 329
thanks for the prompt reply...

well my budget goes to around 500$
so sad to know that fx5600 doesnt come into pci express..
i insist on pci express jus to be future proof...
i dont feel like upgrading my processor for now..think will stop with mobo ram and the graphics card
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old June 30th, 2006, 02:24 PM
cHiNgY1788's Avatar
cHiNgY1788 cHiNgY1788 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: Aussieland
Age: 36
Posts: 4,268
You need to upgrade your motherboard to get AGP 8x, unfortunately, Socket A (Athlon XP) Motherboards are hard to find new


So... you need a new CPU as well

And possibly new RAM

So you might aswell get a new system

So you probably want something around an AMD3500 or better, possibly a dual core CPU

Ofcourse a new motherboard

Ram, you would want about 1gb, its not that expensive these days
DDR400 for AMD, DDR2-533+ for Intel...(not sure on the figures, havent looked into the latest figures recently)

Graphics card, you want a 6600 or higher for nice quality graphics on the games you mentioned

HDD - 200Gb+ are like the best value HDDs

A DVD Burner

Still, for a really good system we need your budget, How much and the currency

You could wait a while for AMD AM2 Socket CPUs to become cheaper, and take advantage of DDR2 on AMD
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old June 30th, 2006, 02:25 PM
cHiNgY1788's Avatar
cHiNgY1788 cHiNgY1788 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: Aussieland
Age: 36
Posts: 4,268
FX5600 is old, and doesnt run many games either, Geforce 6 and 7 series are the way to go

The system i mentioned prbably wont fit under $500 AUD or USD
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old June 30th, 2006, 02:26 PM
cHiNgY1788's Avatar
cHiNgY1788 cHiNgY1788 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: Aussieland
Age: 36
Posts: 4,268
To upgrade using new parts you have to upgrade the CPU
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old June 30th, 2006, 02:28 PM
karthik316_1999 karthik316_1999 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Posts: 329
y is it that i got to upgrade my cpu???cant i just fit in in my new board...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old June 30th, 2006, 02:31 PM
cHiNgY1788's Avatar
cHiNgY1788 cHiNgY1788 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: Aussieland
Age: 36
Posts: 4,268
The Asus A8N supports Socket 939 CPUs, AMD64, X2 and FX

Your AthlonXP is too old for it
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old June 30th, 2006, 02:33 PM
karthik316_1999 karthik316_1999 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Posts: 329
ok lets say im not into going for a new cpu..cant i find a mobo with pci express 533 Mhz bus etc etc supporting my old cpu??/
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old June 30th, 2006, 02:33 PM
cHiNgY1788's Avatar
cHiNgY1788 cHiNgY1788 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: Aussieland
Age: 36
Posts: 4,268
oh forgot to mention might as well go PCI Express
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old June 30th, 2006, 02:34 PM
cHiNgY1788's Avatar
cHiNgY1788 cHiNgY1788 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: Aussieland
Age: 36
Posts: 4,268
impossible

You must get a new CPU with a new board, graphics card and maybe ram

"You can get 8x support by finding a Socket A, AGP8x motherboard, which do exist, but they are most likely seccond hand
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old June 30th, 2006, 02:36 PM
photolady photolady is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 10,927
Ditto what cHiNgY said. You can't just upgrade your motherboard and get one that has PCI-express that will also run your present CPU. Only 939 motherboards run PCI-express graphics cards. However, if you're wanting to upgrade the graphics card, get a 6800. And there are still some Socket A boards around, like those made by MSI, which are good motherboards. Like the one in the link below:
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...Tab=2&NoMapp=0

Of course if you are not in the USA, you'll have to look at online stores in your area.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old June 30th, 2006, 02:36 PM
karthik316_1999 karthik316_1999 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Posts: 329
so..wat kind of amd processors will fit in the latest pci express boards?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old June 30th, 2006, 02:37 PM
cHiNgY1788's Avatar
cHiNgY1788 cHiNgY1788 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: Aussieland
Age: 36
Posts: 4,268
AMD Athlon64 CPUs
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old June 30th, 2006, 02:38 PM
photolady photolady is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 10,927
The reason you can't just fit your Socket A (read 462pin) cpu is because of the pin number. A socket 939 has 939 pins on it, a Socket 462/A has only 462 pins and won't physically fit a socket 939.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Topic Topic Starter Forum Replies Last Post
system upgrade fsteyer Hardware 2 August 1st, 2007 09:28 PM
AMD 64 X2 upgrade system not turning on mcj0422 Hardware 4 October 11th, 2006 04:29 PM
video card upgrade without power supply upgrade??? pbaiocco Hardware 13 September 4th, 2006 07:39 PM
System Upgrade Jcooper Hardware 4 March 3rd, 2006 01:55 AM
System won't start after pretty big upgrade StoaVio Hardware 9 April 21st, 2004 05:53 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:17 PM.