Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Operating Systems > Linux

Notices

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old October 8th, 2004, 07:03 AM
bAdWaYz bAdWaYz is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
O/S: Linux
Location: A State of Zen
Age: 47
Posts: 4,561
Give us a screen shot!

I thought it would be kinda cool to see other folks desktops that also use Linux. So if you have a screen shot share it with us and lets see how awesome you're desktop is!

Last edited by bAdWaYz; October 9th, 2004 at 05:38 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old October 8th, 2004, 07:05 AM
bAdWaYz bAdWaYz is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
O/S: Linux
Location: A State of Zen
Age: 47
Posts: 4,561
Here is one for ya. Note the use of Fluxbox and the misuse of the BSD mascot lol.














By the way if anyone needs help in hosting thier desktop pic pm me. I'll host a few so you can post them here if need be.

Last edited by bAdWaYz; October 8th, 2004 at 07:09 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old October 10th, 2004, 09:27 AM
smurfy's Avatar
smurfy smurfy is offline
Cyber Tech Help Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
O/S: Linux
Location: Christchurch New Zealand
Posts: 9,537
We don't want to see your wallpaper here, show us your working (or playing) environment - windows open, menus up etc.

Mine are coming...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old October 10th, 2004, 09:55 AM
smurfy's Avatar
smurfy smurfy is offline
Cyber Tech Help Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
O/S: Linux
Location: Christchurch New Zealand
Posts: 9,537
Debian


My standard Linux desktop (I configure KDE in all my distros to look pretty much the same as this - Red Hat 7.1 and Mandrake 9.0 are more or less identical).
Taskbar and panel along the bottom (Windows habits die hard )
ICEWM window decorations.
Standard Debian menus (may clean those up one day)
Mandrake 10.0 (Kernel 2.6 and newer KDE) to come...

(The wallpaper is the Simptrix)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old November 11th, 2004, 01:04 AM
barrykane2003 barrykane2003 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 105
XFCE4 on Mandrake 10.0 Official

Kernel: 2.6.3-14mdk

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old November 18th, 2004, 12:28 AM
DaBlade's Avatar
DaBlade DaBlade is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
O/S: Linux
Location: Norway, but born in Bosnia
Age: 32
Posts: 170
Here's mine(Mandrake 10.1, KDE 3.2 (I'm gonna switch to FC3 in a few days):
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old June 7th, 2005, 03:17 AM
bAdWaYz bAdWaYz is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
O/S: Linux
Location: A State of Zen
Age: 47
Posts: 4,561
This thread kinda died out but I wanna see some more desktops as I'm bored with mine. So post em up "kage" since you are the new mod in town you gotta post one up buddy
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old June 7th, 2005, 09:32 AM
smurfy's Avatar
smurfy smurfy is offline
Cyber Tech Help Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
O/S: Linux
Location: Christchurch New Zealand
Posts: 9,537
Here you go then...
Attached Images
File Type: jpg desktop1.jpg (93.1 KB, 146 views)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old June 7th, 2005, 12:24 PM
kage's Avatar
kage kage is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
O/S: Linux
Posts: 1,644


My Xfce setup. A bit old, but useable.



This is when I was into fvwm configuration.



My xfce4 setup, which gets the most use



I no longer have this setup, so I couldn't take a screen with active windows, sorry about that. It is gnome with the gdesklets plugin.

Last edited by kage; June 7th, 2005 at 12:26 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old June 7th, 2005, 02:58 PM
bAdWaYz bAdWaYz is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
O/S: Linux
Location: A State of Zen
Age: 47
Posts: 4,561
Pretty nice screen you got goin on there Smurfy. Kage the more I look at your xfce4 setup the more I like it. I run that on Slack and its sweet but yours has mine beat I have to say.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old June 12th, 2005, 03:29 PM
jmtjet jmtjet is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
O/S: Windows 7 32-bit
Location: Ogdensburg,NY USA
Age: 83
Posts: 1,655
Question; how do I capture a screen shot? I'm using SuSE Linux version 9.0. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old June 12th, 2005, 04:00 PM
bAdWaYz bAdWaYz is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
O/S: Linux
Location: A State of Zen
Age: 47
Posts: 4,561
if you use GNOME you can take a screenshot on the screen that you use to log out. I used to use Pixie alot myself.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old June 12th, 2005, 04:23 PM
jmtjet jmtjet is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
O/S: Windows 7 32-bit
Location: Ogdensburg,NY USA
Age: 83
Posts: 1,655
I'm using KDE 3.1, any ideas on how to with KDE?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old June 12th, 2005, 11:36 PM
smurfy's Avatar
smurfy smurfy is offline
Cyber Tech Help Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
O/S: Linux
Location: Christchurch New Zealand
Posts: 9,537
ksnapshot - see the attachment for KDE/Suse 9.1, should be in a similar place on 9.0
Attached Images
File Type: jpg desktop2.jpg (90.7 KB, 104 views)
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old June 13th, 2005, 12:02 AM
jmtjet jmtjet is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
O/S: Windows 7 32-bit
Location: Ogdensburg,NY USA
Age: 83
Posts: 1,655
Ok, got it. It won't be as fancy as you guys, but I'm a learnin.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:23 AM.