Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Operating Systems > Linux

Notices

Linux Problem solving for all open source distributions of Linux, such as Debian/Ubuntu, Fedora, RedHat, Suse, Mandriva and other proprietary unixes such as Solaris, SGI Irix. Newbie friendly too!

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old March 29th, 2010, 05:46 AM
Jaytee's Avatar
Jaytee Jaytee is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
O/S: Linux
Location: Hamilton New Zealand
Age: 76
Posts: 3,620
I need some help with a shell script please

I am trying to run a reconfigure script for my sound in an attempt to get some nicer noises from my 3d games.
The script "upgradealsa.sh" is on my Desktop but I am having troubles getting to it. These are a couple of the things I have failed with so far.
Terminal <code>
john@sniffy:~$ sudo sh
[sudo] password for john:
# ~/Desktop/upgradealsa.sh
sh: /home/john/Desktop/upgradealsa.sh: Permission denied
# sudo ~/Desktop/upgradealsa.sh
sudo: /home/john/Desktop/upgradealsa.sh: command not found
#
<end code>
I probably have made a simple error so if you can see it please advise..
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old March 29th, 2010, 08:20 AM
MishY's Avatar
MishY MishY is offline
Cyber Tech Help Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
O/S: Linux
Location: England
Age: 46
Posts: 9,287
Try:

chmod +x /home/john/Desktop/upgradealsa.sh
cd /home/john/Desktop/
./upgradealsa.sh
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old March 29th, 2010, 09:11 AM
Jaytee's Avatar
Jaytee Jaytee is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
O/S: Linux
Location: Hamilton New Zealand
Age: 76
Posts: 3,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by MishY View Post
Try:

chmod +x /home/john/Desktop/upgradealsa.sh
cd /home/john/Desktop/
./upgradealsa.sh
Hi Mishy,
This is the outcome:
<code>
john@sniffy:~$ chmod+x/home/john/Desktop/upgradealsa.sh
bash: chmod+x/home/john/Desktop/upgradealsa.sh: No such file or directory
john@sniffy:~$ cd /home/john/Desktop/
john@sniffy:~/Desktop$ ./upgradealsa.sh
bash: ./upgradealsa.sh: Permission denied
john@sniffy:~/Desktop$ sudo ./upgradealsa.sh
[sudo] password for john:
sudo: ./upgradealsa.sh: command not found
john@sniffy:~/Desktop$
<end code
Just as I was about to send this I had a brainwave and changed the file property of this to execute. Now the code you gave is me working. Many thanks..

Last edited by Jaytee; March 29th, 2010 at 09:12 AM. Reason: missing "is"
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old March 29th, 2010, 11:50 AM
Jaytee's Avatar
Jaytee Jaytee is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
O/S: Linux
Location: Hamilton New Zealand
Age: 76
Posts: 3,620
Mishy,
That script ran fine AND resolved a long standing problem have I had with 3D games..
Thanks for the help
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Topic Topic Starter Forum Replies Last Post
what does shell 32 mean mass Applications 2 September 20th, 2006 07:04 AM
Shell? What shell?? zipulrich The Anything Else Board 1 September 19th, 2006 12:20 PM
changing users within a shell script RichardJones Linux 8 May 17th, 2005 07:19 PM
Missing Shell.dll wempower Windows NT, 2000, 2003, 2008, 2012 0 February 3rd, 2005 04:15 AM
Can't find shell.dll BlackNGoldRules Windows XP 3 September 15th, 2004 07:18 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:18 AM.