Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Hardware > Hardware

Notices

Hardware Use this board for problem solving and the discussion of Computer Hardware issues

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old May 13th, 2006, 09:20 PM
Kerry Lange Kerry Lange is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Age: 73
Posts: 111
excessive fan noise after power supply upgrade

Strange problem. After my 350 watt power supply gave up, I replaced it with a 500 watt unit. I hooked everything back up and now my pc sounds like a window air conditioning unit. The fan speed is now a lot louder and it seems to be the CPU fan. My system fan speed shows 2678 rpm and my CPU fan speed shows 8035. Does that seem a little excessive? What could I have done wrong. Everything else works fine. I've reconnected the CPU fan to other connections and it makes no difference.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old May 14th, 2006, 07:27 AM
mark11211 mark11211 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
O/S: Windows 7 32-bit
Location: Uk
Posts: 201
do you have any kind of monotoring software? If so open it and see if you have an option to activate Smart fan. What mobo do you have?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old May 14th, 2006, 10:48 AM
liondad's Avatar
liondad liondad is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: SURREY /UK
Age: 78
Posts: 2,052
Just a note,
Go in to your bios and look at the fan settings,
maybe the cpu fan speed control has been disable,
and your new psu is pushing more power to it
making it run flat out,
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old May 14th, 2006, 09:19 PM
Kerry Lange Kerry Lange is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Age: 73
Posts: 111
Mark 11211, my Aida 32 does not show any option to activate Smart Fan. My mobo is an ECS K76S5A
liondad, I have no idea how to get into my bios. I looked on the ECS Website, for updated bios and they had a disclaimer stating that if everything is running fine, not to mess with them. My monitoring software (Aida 32) does state that my BIOS are out of date, but my fan speed is my only current problem. I would be interested in knowing how to access it though, if it's not too difficult.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old May 15th, 2006, 12:24 AM
liondad's Avatar
liondad liondad is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: SURREY /UK
Age: 78
Posts: 2,052
Would you mind telling what cpu is install and the type ram you have,
so i can access the tec docs and find all the bios settup ect on your mobo,
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old May 15th, 2006, 05:12 AM
Kerry Lange Kerry Lange is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Age: 73
Posts: 111
AMD Athlon 2000XP (1659 Mhz)
512 MB PC133 SDRAM
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old May 15th, 2006, 07:38 PM
liondad's Avatar
liondad liondad is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: SURREY /UK
Age: 78
Posts: 2,052
SORRY,
your bios setting for fans is set [can not be modfied] its grayed out
can not be changed by the user,
yet you could change mem settings
cpu settings ,
DONT MESS WITH THESE,
They could shut you down if you get them wrong,
Could you buy a new fan ONE OF THE QUIET ONEs
If you need to go in to the bios,
Hit delete just after startup

Last edited by liondad; May 15th, 2006 at 07:42 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old May 15th, 2006, 09:53 PM
Kerry Lange Kerry Lange is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Age: 73
Posts: 111
liondad, Thanks for your help on this, although we couldn't resolve the problem. I'll probably just live with this issue, as it's one of four pc's that I have and it only gets used occasionally. My main concern was that I had connected something wrong and could burn something out, but the fan seems to be doing alright at that speed. I do appreciate your input and advice though.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Topic Topic Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power Surge on Computer, Power Supply Makes funny noise, PC doesn't turn on thisnthat Hardware 6 January 29th, 2008 10:33 PM
video card upgrade without power supply upgrade??? pbaiocco Hardware 13 September 4th, 2006 07:39 PM
Power supply fan Noise craigwheway Hardware 2 January 28th, 2006 11:14 PM
Do I Need To Upgrade My Power Supply? RcaMumba Hardware 10 January 13th, 2006 11:35 PM
Power Supply Upgrade boosted-lt1 Hardware 4 December 5th, 2005 01:09 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:37 PM.