Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Operating Systems > Linux

Notices

Linux Problem solving for all open source distributions of Linux, such as Debian/Ubuntu, Fedora, RedHat, Suse, Mandriva and other proprietary unixes such as Solaris, SGI Irix. Newbie friendly too!

Topic Tools
Old June 30th, 2010, 12:50 PM

Don't update Ubuntu until you read this

Today's update seems to have a major bug -- can't download pix using the usual mouse method.

"Save file" hangs as a blank dialog box with no opportunity to put in a file name or location.

Happened to me using both Firefox and Opera.

When I tried to shut down the browser, I got an error message about a file lock, don't know what it meant.

What is the bug reporting procedure, does someone on this board have juice with Canonical, and what are the chances this stuff gets fixed? Right now I have a hefty paperweight, and who knows what other bugs are in the mix?

Last edited by Total Noob; June 30th, 2010 at 12:52 PM. Reason: correction
Old June 30th, 2010, 01:39 PM

O/S: Windows XP Pro
Well, you might want to tell us which 'distro' you are using - e.g. I'm on 9.10 at the moment, and likely 'buggy' updates may be applicable to just one of the many Linux/Ubuntu distributions.

Concerning reporting bugs, the Ubuntu Forums is extremely active w/ many experienced users - a solution may already be posted there? Also check this Site HERE for reporting bugs.

Good luck -

Last edited by giradman; June 30th, 2010 at 05:56 PM. Reason: minor typos
Old June 30th, 2010, 03:34 PM

Followup

Quote:
Originally Posted by giradman View Post
Well, you might want to tell us which 'distro' you are using - e.g. I'm on 9.10 at the moment, and likely 'buggy' updates may be applicable to just one of the many Linus/Ubuntu distributions.
Yes, for sure. It is 10.4

Quote:
Originally Posted by giradman View Post