Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Hardware > Hardware

Notices

Hardware Use this board for problem solving and the discussion of Computer Hardware issues

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old March 3rd, 2008, 07:49 PM
ryan1302 ryan1302 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 5
I cannot get my Microphone to work.

I have tried everything I could think of, I even tried restoring to a older date, yet nothing seems to work. I wish there was a way I could put my sound settings back to default, but for some reason I cannot figure out how to anywhere. If someone has any way of helping me fix my mic, or how to restore the defaults, please let me know.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old March 3rd, 2008, 08:04 PM
l337_GuY's Avatar
l337_GuY l337_GuY is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: New Zealand
Age: 16
Posts: 7,436
Are you using front or rear ports?

Checked that it is not muted?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old March 3rd, 2008, 08:09 PM
ryan1302 ryan1302 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 5
Yes, if rear ports you are referring to the ones in the back of the tower, than yes. I would not know how to check if they are muted, cause I am using a headset, and the earphones are working fine. I just on a ventrillo, and when I que my mic, it is playing other peoples words. Like an echo almost, when we are que'd at the same time.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old March 3rd, 2008, 08:57 PM
ryan1302 ryan1302 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 5
Update: My microphone worked for a second when I was moving the wires, could this mean I just need a new mic?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old March 3rd, 2008, 09:06 PM
photolady photolady is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 10,927
Yes, if the mic worked when you moved wires, that means there is a break in the wiring and a new mic is the solution.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old March 3rd, 2008, 10:51 PM
ryan1302 ryan1302 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 5
Update: Got a new headset, and switched to a USB port one. Again, the headphone part of it works, but the microphone seems to not work again. Also, when I log into ventrillo, I get this error,

VoiceCommMixerStart: Non-mux based mixer failed to find fader. rc=-1

Seems, like I have a whole new set of problems.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old March 4th, 2008, 09:52 PM
ryan1302 ryan1302 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 5
Update: Tried to re-install the program, ventrilo, but no luck. Anyone know how I could fix that error VoiceCommMixerStart: Non-mux based mixer failed to find fader. rc=-1 from comming up?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old March 4th, 2008, 10:29 PM
photolady photolady is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 10,927
When you connected the microphone to start with, was the computer shut down first?

Since I don't use Ventrilo, I'm not much help with that part.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old March 4th, 2008, 10:50 PM
photolady photolady is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 10,927
What Operating system are you using? I found a forum/website for Ventrilo and it might help if I knew what os you have.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Topic Topic Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help! how do I get my microphone to work lmcstar Hardware 1 October 6th, 2010 04:52 AM
microphone wont work acsdeb Applications 1 January 1st, 2007 10:38 PM
Please help me my microphone refuses to work Tincan127 Hardware 6 April 27th, 2006 12:46 PM
Microphone REFUSES to work. Luke20 Hardware 2 April 27th, 2006 12:40 PM
MSN- Getting microphone to work craigwheway Applications 2 January 18th, 2005 06:26 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:32 PM.