Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Operating Systems > Older Windows Versions > Windows XP

Notices

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old February 1st, 2022, 09:55 PM
justacruzr2 justacruzr2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 44
Trading Places

Is there a way to move an SCSI HDD with XP to the IDE postion without XP performing endless reboot loops?
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old February 3rd, 2022, 03:36 AM
Murf's Avatar
Murf Murf is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows 11
Location: Newport News VA
Age: 77
Posts: 17,351
What do you mean IDE position??Do you want to hook up a SCSI drive to IDE? Will need an adapter and an IDE cable?

Or are you talking about changing the BIOS Setup from SCSI to IDE?

SCSI drives read data differently than an IDE drive, not sure exactly what your trying to do?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old February 4th, 2022, 11:17 PM
justacruzr2 justacruzr2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by Murf View Post
What do you mean IDE position??Do you want to hook up a SCSI drive to IDE? Will need an adapter and an IDE cable?

Or are you talking about changing the BIOS Setup from SCSI to IDE?

SCSI drives read data differently than an IDE drive, not sure exactly what your trying to do?
When I'm thru setting up XP on this drive I want to move it to the IDE connector. Currently it is connected, via a ribbon cable, to a RAID controller card. I want to eventually take it off the RAID controller card and move it to the IDE slave position connector. Because it's currently connected to the RAID card it's listed in the registry under the subkey SCSI. Not sure how XP will react if I move it to the IDE connector. This is all within the same computer and these are PATA drives. Hope that clears it up.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old February 7th, 2022, 07:21 PM
Murf's Avatar
Murf Murf is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows 11
Location: Newport News VA
Age: 77
Posts: 17,351
Do you plan on booting from this drive as a SLAVE?

If you remove the RAID controller card, then physically set the drive to SLAVE and connect to the IDE connector. Boot and immediately get into BIOS Setup.

Depending on the BIOS, find where the drives show up, then change the boot order, also change from SCSI to IDE save and exit, the computer should then boot from the SLAVE drive.

Since the RAID Card is gone the BIOS should then see that and not load drivers for it.

If you are going to boot from the SLAVE drive why make it slave and not master? Do you have another drive that you will be booting from.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old February 7th, 2022, 11:13 PM
justacruzr2 justacruzr2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by Murf View Post
Do you plan on booting from this drive as a SLAVE?

If you remove the RAID controller card, then physically set the drive to SLAVE and connect to the IDE connector. Boot and immediately get into BIOS Setup.

Depending on the BIOS, find where the drives show up, then change the boot order, also change from SCSI to IDE save and exit, the computer should then boot from the SLAVE drive.

Since the RAID Card is gone the BIOS should then see that and not load drivers for it.

If you are going to boot from the SLAVE drive why make it slave and not master? Do you have another drive that you will be booting from.
The Raid card isn't going anywhere. I'm just going to move the drive from the raid card to the IDE and the one that is on the IDE now will go to the Raid. Just swapping positions. Was concerned about XP thinking it's been stolen and that it is not where it should be. Because it will change the entries in HKLM_SYSTEM\CuurentControlSet\ENUM\ from being listed under the SCSI subkey to the IDE subkey I thought that might make XP go into the endless reboot thing. If not, then it's all good.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old February 8th, 2022, 02:21 AM
Murf's Avatar
Murf Murf is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows 11
Location: Newport News VA
Age: 77
Posts: 17,351
Should correct the registry and the BIOS after boot. Before doing it to be safe, back up your registry.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old February 9th, 2022, 08:13 PM
justacruzr2 justacruzr2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by Murf View Post
Should correct the registry and the BIOS after boot. Before doing it to be safe, back up your registry.
That was my thought too. I thought maybe what I should do is uninstall it (Device Manager) before I shut down, then make the change in positions and then reboot. Hoping that XP will then reinstall it under the IDE subkey. Do you think that will work? One good thing about keeping the 9x series OS's on my computer is I can make changes to XP that XP wouldn't allow and also I can make a complete backup with them too. XP doesn't backup everything.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:54 PM.